Cultural Visionary Award for Chicago

Founded in 2010, the Cultural Visionary Award for Chicago is awarded by the Music Institute to individuals who possess the qualities that six generations of the city's forebears have successfully used to advance the civic and cultural presence of Chicago: a commitment to improving the quality of life for all citizens; a commitment to using the "power" of public and private partnership to expand access to diverse cultural offerings for all citizens; a commitment to advancing a strong spirit of philanthropy to build a sense of ownership and pride in our city, and; a commitment to preparing succeeding generations of citizens to continue Chicago's rich legacy of civic and cultural pride.


2023 Cultural Visionary Award for Chicago

Karen Gray-Krehbiel and John Krehbiel


Past Cultural Visonary Award Recipients

2022 Nancy and Scott Santi

2021  Linda and Bill Gantz

2020  Helen Zell

2019  Caryn and King Harris

2018  Frederick H. Waddell

2017  Susan and Richard (in memory) Kiphart

2016  Lois M. and Harrison I. Steans

2015  Mary B. Galvin

2014  Alexandra and John Nichols

2013  Jim and Kay Mabie

2012  Marilynn B. Alsdorf

2011  Sandra and Jack Guthman

2010  John H. Bryan, Joan W. Harris and Cindy Pritzker