Dushkin Award

The Dushkin Award was established in 1985 to honor the memory of the Music Institute's founders, Dorothy and David Dushkin. This internationally-recognized award has been presented to some of the most revered and accomplished musical artists and composers of our time, all of who have a deeply rooted passion for music education. 


2022 Dushkin Awardee - Hilary Hahn 



Three-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Hilary Hahn melds expressive musicality and technical expertise with a diverse repertoire guided by artistic curiosity. Her barrier-breaking attitude towards classical music and her commitment to sharing her experiences with a global community have made her a fan favorite. Hahn is a prolific recording artist and commissioner of new works, and her 21 feature recordings have received every critical prize in the international press.


She was named Artist in Residence of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 2021. This season and next, she is in Chicago for extended residencies, including appearances with the CSO, chamber music concerts, and master classes, all with a special focus on community-engagement initiatives.


As Virtual Artist-in-Residence with the Philharmonic Society of Orange County, Hahn performed three programs this season, including the world premiere of her newly composed cadenza to Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5. Hahn went on to perform the concerto with the Houston and Dallas Symphony Orchestras; in Dallas, she also delivered the keynote speech of the Second Annual Women in Classical Music Symposium.


Hahn has related to her fans naturally from the very beginning of her career. She has committed to signings after nearly every concert and maintains and shares a collection of the fan art she has received over the course of 20 years. An avid and early blogger, Hahn hosts on her website a variety of original writing dating back to 2002. Her “Postcards from the Road” feature, a series of personal updates from her travels around the world, evolved from an initial year-long postcard project that she began with a classroom of third-graders.


Hahn’s commitment to her fans extends to a long history of educational initiatives. A former Suzuki student, she released new recordings of the first three books of the Suzuki Violin School in 2020, in partnership with the International Suzuki Association and Alfred Music. The recordings also appear on the teaching platform SmartMusic.


Her Instagram-based practice initiative, #100daysofpractice, has helped to demystify the typically grueling and isolating practice process, transforming it into a community-oriented, social celebration of artistic development. Since creating the hashtag in 2017, Hahn has completed the project three times under her handle, @violincase; fellow performers and students have contributed nearly 500,000 posts under the hashtag. 

Past Dushkin Awardees

2021 Zubin Mehta

2020 Evgeny Kissin

2019 Wynton Marsalis

2018  Pinchas Zukerman

2017  Rachel Barton Pine

2016  Joshua Bell

2015  Deborah Rutter

2014  André Previn

2013  Lang Lang

2012  Stephen Sondheim

2011  Riccardo Muti

2010  Yo-Yo Ma

2009  James Conlon

2008  Steve Robinson & Bill McGlaughlin

2007  Leon Fleisher

2006  Midori

2005  William Mason

2004  Renée Fleming

2003  Sir Andrew Davis

2002  Mstislav Rostropovich

2001  Isaac Stern

2000  Christoph Eschenbach

1999  Pierre Boulez

1998  Zarin Mehta

1997  Samuel Ramey

1996  William Warfield

1995  Placido Domingo

1994  Henry Fogel, Daniel Barenboim (Honored Guest)

1993  Bruno Bartoletti

1992  Margaret Hillis

1993  Mr. & Mrs. William A. Boone

1990  Sherrill Milnes

1989  Sir Georg and Lady Solti

1987  Ardis Krainik

1986  Louis Sudler, Sr.

1985  Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth F. Montgomery