Upcoming Events
Thanksgiving recess continues - Day 5 November 26, 2022 8:00 am
Academy Orchestra Concert December 3, 2022 7:30 pm Saturday, December 3, 2022 | 7:30 PM

Saint Paul String Quartet Competition Finals

April 16, 2016

Quartet Degas, comprised of Maya Buchanan and Josh Brown, violin; Tess Krope, viola and Josiah Yoo, cello captured the Bronze Medal at the 11th annual Saint Paul String Quartet Competition (SPSQC) on April 16.  The group, coached by Sang Mee Lee and Roland Vamos, also won Audience Favorite and performed the second movement of Ravel’s String Quartet and Brahms' Quartet in C minor.


The 2016 Saint Paul String Quartet Competition (SPSQC), the nation’s only major event for high school string quartets, was held in Sundin Music Hall on the campus of Hamline University. From a pool of applicants from coast to coast, six outstanding high school quartets were selected to compete in two rounds of competition judged by the renowned Pro Arte Quartet.

Founded in 2006 as a performance forum for outstanding high school chamber musicians, the Saint Paul String Quartet Competition's primary mission is to celebrate excellence in string quartet playing, foster an increased appreciation for the chamber music art form, and enhance the music culture in this country. The SPSQC has garnered a national reputation for showcasing our nation's finest pre-college string players and young artists from this event now populate the most prestigious conservatories and music programs in the country.


Previous MIC Academy Winners

2015 Gold Medal — Atara String Quartet

2014 Silver Medal — Atara String Quartet


2012 Haydn Prize — Quartet Ventoso

2010 Gold Medal — Emerald String Quartet
        Silver Medal — Quartet Danaë

2009 Gold Medal — Aurelia String Quartet
        Silver Medal — Quartet Danaë

2008 Silver Medal — Quartet Polaris

2007 Gold Medal — Ridere Quartet
        Silver Medal — Zeloso String Quartet 







The 2022 Impact Report is here!

Please enjoy learning more about our amazing students and faculty as well as last year's highlights. Thank you for your instrumental support in helping keep our MIC community strong >>