Upcoming Events
Nichols Concert Hall Series: "Duke it Out!" - Nutcracker December 10, 2022 2:00 pm In-person tickets SOLD OUT. Watch the livestream!
Academy Chamber Music Concert December 10, 2022 7:30 pm Saturday, December 10, 2022 | 7:30 pm Nichols Concert Hall, 1490 Chicago Avenue, Evanston

Vibrante Quartet wins Bronze at Fischoff

May 10, 2016


This year six Music Institute of Chicago Academy chamber music ensembles were accepted to the Junior Division Quarterfinals of the Fischoff National Chamber Music Association Competition.The Fischoff National Chamber Music Association sponsors the nation's largest chamber music competition, and is America’s premier educational chamber music competition


Two piano trios, one piano quartet, and three string quartets competed beginning on May 6, 2016 at the campus of the University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, USA.  Trio Iris, Archon Piano Quartet, Calliope Trio, Vibrante Quartet and Quartet Degas advanced to the semi-final round with Vibrante Quartet ultimately placing third and taking home the bronze medal.  Congratulations to all groups competing this year to bronze medalists, Hannah White, Zachary Brandon, Freya Irani and Leevy Williams. Historically, the Academy are strong competitors at the competition winning 12 medals at Fischoff since the Academy's inception in 2006.  Check out more of the Academy's award history here.


2016 Academy Groups at Fischoff


Archon Piano Quartet - Nicholas Brown, Steven Song, Annamarie Wellems, Daniel Szefer
(Abraham Stokman and Rodolfo Vieira, coaches)


Calliope Trio - Karisa Chiu, Nathan Mo, Andrew Guo
(Tatyana Stepanova and Paul Vanderwerf, coaches)


Degas Quartet - Maya Buchanan, Joshua Brown, Tess Krope, Josiah Yoo
(Sang Mee Lee and Roland Vamos, coaches)


Trio Iris - Ria Honda, Alexandra Kim, Natalie Nedvetsky
(Milana Pavchinskaya and Paul Vanderwerf, coaches)


Vibrante Quartet - Hannah White, Zachary Brandon, Freya Irani, Leevy Williams
(Mathias Tacke, coach)


Vitae String Quartet - John Heo, Claire Arias-Kim, Peter Morin, Brendan Tarm
(Mathias Tacke, coach)


Kudos to 2nd Alternate - Akros Piano Trio - Byron Fulop Laing, John Schindler, Lydia Rhea
(Abraham Stokman and Rodolfo Vieira, coaches) 

The 2022 Impact Report is here!

Learn more about our amazing students and faculty and thank you for your instrumental support in helping keep our MIC community strong >>