Richard D. Colburn Award for Teaching Excellence

Founded in 2014, the Richard D. Colburn Award for Teaching Excellence is presented annually to faculty members of the Music Institute of Chicago who exemplify the high standard of excellence set by Richard D. Colburn in his many musical endeavors. Great teaching is what the Music Institute most values, and includes instruction in art, technique, joyful playing, collaboration with other musicians and sharing one’s gifts with the wider community. We invest in music because we love humanity. 

Past Recipients


2018 Stanley Davis, clarinet and saxophone faculty

2017  Elaine Felder, MIC Piano Department Chair,
         piano and chamber music faculty

2016  Roland and Almita Vamos, violin and viola faculty

2015  Gilda Barston, Dean Emeritus, cello faculty

2014  Claire Aebersold Neiweem and Ralph Neiweem, piano and chamber music