Back to top

The Music Institute of Chicago board, administration and faculty work hard to further the Music Institute of Chicago mission while dealing with the day-to-day needs of those we serve. Please do not hesitate to contact us with your ideas, questions or concerns.

Main Administrative Office
622 Davis Street, 4th Fl

Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: 847.448.8308


Office of the President

Dr. Mark George

Chamber Music Faculty (Academy)
President and CEO

Sue Polutnik

MIC COO and Academy Executive Director
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Community Music School

Emily Abraham

Dean and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Dr. Marie Alatalo

Piano and Musicianship Faculty
Campus Director, Chicago

Clem Leek

Music Production Faculty
Campus Director, Winnetka

Patrick O'Malley

Recorder Faculty (Suzuki)
Campus Director, Evanston

Timothy Cook

MIC Concert Band Director
Campus Director, Lake Forest & Lake Bluff

Dr. Sung Hoon Mo

Piano and Musicianship Faculty
Site Coordinator, Downers Grove

Matt Boresi

Director of Arts Integration

Campus Support Staff

Maria Alfaro

Administrative Assistant, Evanston East Campus

Rae Harris

Administrative Assistant, Winnetka Campus

Mary Buckingham

Customer Service Specialist

Community Engagement

Matt Boresi

Director of Arts Integration

Victor Ribadeneyra

Trombone Faculty
Director of Community Engagement

The Academy

Sue Polutnik

MIC COO and Academy Executive Director
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Jim Setapen

Academy Director and MIC Conductor-in-Residence
Academy Director


Jennifer Bienemann

Vice President and Chief Development Officer

Luis Romero

Development Coordinator

Em Couling

Donor Engagement and Database Manager

Finance and Operations

Marcia Rubin

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Orlando Gino


Tyra Holloway

Payroll Specialist

Rose Vakili

Registration and Billing Manager

Jerry Wojcik

Facilities Manager

Marketing and Communications

Jen Hanson

Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer

Erin Fusco

Director of Marketing and Communications

Vanesa Elias

Social Media and Content Coordinator

Nora Takagi

Marketing & Communications Coordinator

Nichols Concert Hall

Kevin Harrison

Director of Operations, Nichols Concert Hall

Eric Desnoyers

Associate Director of Operations, Nichols Concert Hall


Ke Wang

Piano Faculty

Julia Wen

Cello Faculty, Musikgarten Faculty, Suzuki Events Coordinator

Sanghui Wimbiscus

Cello Faculty

Camille Witos

Piano (Suzuki); Chamber Music Faculty

Juli Wood

Jazz Saxophone and Jazz Vocals Faculty

Reiko Yamada

Piano Faculty

Shigetoshi Yamada

Violin & Viola Faculty (Suzuki)

Seho Young

Piano Faculty

Paul Zafer

Viola Faculty and Chamber Music Faculty

Lisa Zilberman

Piano Faculty

Mischa Zupko

Composition Faculty

Irene Zuppardo

Piano Faculty

Board of Trustees


  • Scott Verschoor, Chair
  • Alexandra C. Nichols, Chair Emerita
  • Timothy J. Patenode, Treasurer
  • Barbara Sereda, Secretary
  • Lee Anne Stoddart, Vice Chair
  • Carlos R. Cardenas, CPA, Vice Chair
  • Paul Brourman
  • Hans Germann
  • Daniel Hahn
  • Courtney Holohan
  • Kay Mabie
  • Yana Nedvetsky
  • Renée Parquette
  • Vikram Raghavan
  • Jim Stone
  • Ross Updegraff
  • Zalman Usiskin
  • Audra Wilson
  • David Zampa
  • Florian Zettelmeyer
  • Tao Zhu

Life Trustees

  • John J. Berwanger
  • Mitzi Freidheim
  • Brooks Morgan
  • Rachel Barton Pine
  • Betsey L. Puth
  • Priscilla F. Richman
  • William N. Topaz

Honorary Board

  • Jennifer Koh
  • Nina Kraus
  • Deborah F. Rutter

ex-officio trustees

  • Mark George
  • Christopher Rintz
Music Institute of Chicago Board of Trustees
Photo by Kyle Flubacker