Back to top

The Music Institute of Chicago board, administration and faculty work hard to further the Music Institute of Chicago mission while dealing with the day-to-day needs of those we serve. Please do not hesitate to contact us with your ideas, questions or concerns.

Main Administrative Office
622 Davis Street, 4th Fl

Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: 847.448.8308


Office of the President

Dr. Mark George

Chamber Music Faculty (Academy)
President and CEO

Sue Polutnik

Academy Executive Director
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Community Music School

Emily Abraham

Dean and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Dr. Marie Alatalo

Artist Faculty, Piano
Campus Director, Chicago

Clem Leek

Music Production Faculty
Campus Director, Winnetka

Patrick O'Malley

Recorder Faculty (Suzuki)
Campus Director, Evanston

Timothy Cook

MIC Concert Band Director
Campus Director, Lake Forest & Lake Bluff

Dr. Sung Hoon Mo

Piano and Musicianship Faculty
Site Coordinator, Downers Grove

Campus Support Staff

Maria Alfaro

Administrative Assistant, Evanston East Campus

Rae Harris

Administrative Assistant, Winnetka Campus

AJ Seitz

Administrative Assistant, Lake Forest & Lake Bluff Campuses

Mary Buckingham

Customer Service Specialist

Community Engagement

Matt Boresi

Director of Arts Integration

Victor Ribadeneyra

Trombone Faculty
Director of Community Engagement

The Academy

Sue Polutnik

Academy Executive Director
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Jim Setapen

Conductor-in-Residence and Artistic Director of The Academy
Artistic Director of The Academy


Jennifer Bienemann

Vice President and Chief Development Officer

Luis Romero

Development Coordinator

Josephine Bozek Stocks

Annual Fund and Development Communications Specialist

Em Couling

Donor Engagement and Database Manager

Finance and Operations

Marcia Rubin

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Orlando Gino


Tyra Holloway

Payroll Specialist

Rose Vakili

Registration and Billing Manager

Jerry Wojcik

Facilities Manager

Marketing and Communications

Jen Hanson

Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer

Erin Fusco

Director of Marketing and Communications

Vanesa Elias

Social Media and Content Coordinator

Nora Takagi

Marketing & Communications Coordinator

Nichols Concert Hall

Kevin Harrison

Director of Operations, Nichols Concert Hall


Suzanne Hannau

Flute Faculty; Musikgarten Faculty

Chris Hasselbring

Trumpet Faculty

Carol Honigberg

Piano Faculty

Dr. Cloudia (Ching-Yun) Huang

Cello Faculty (Suzuki)

Jeremy Kahn

Piano Faculty (Suzuki and Jazz)

Aaron Kaplan

Preludio Orchestra Director; Assistant Director, Chicago Suzuki Institute, Cello Choir

Leon Khoja-Eynatyan

Percussion Faculty

Galina Kiep

Bassoon Faculty

Dr. Yumy Lee Kim

Piano Faculty (Suzuki & traditional)

Davis King

Violin & Viola Faculty

Deborah Knowles

Percussion Faculty; MIC Concert Band

Jay Kolin

Suzuki Piano faculty

Bill Kronenberg

Violin Faculty (Suzuki)

Cindy Lam


Claudia Lasareff-Mironoff

Academy Chamber Music Faculty

Mr. Matthew Lee

Trumpet Instructor

Katherine Lee

Piano Faculty

Phillip Lee

Cello Faculty, Suzuki Faculty

Dr. Soo Young Lee

Piano & Chamber Music Faculty

Dr. Jeong Min Lee

Piano Faculty (Suzuki)

Board of Trustees


  • Scott Verschoor, Chair
  • Alexandra C. Nichols, Chair Emerita
  • Timothy J. Patenode, Treasurer
  • Barbara Sereda, Secretary
  • Lee Anne Stoddart, Vice Chair
  • Carlos R. Cárdenas, CPA
  • Hans Germann
  • Daniel Hahn
  • Courtney Holohan
  • Kay Mabie
  • Yana Nedvetsky
  • Renée Parquette
  • Timothy Patenode
  • Jim Stone
  • Ross Updegraff
  • Zalman Usiskin
  • Audra Wilson
  • David Zampa
  • Florian Zettelmeyer

Life Trustees

  • John J. Berwanger
  • Mitzi Freidheim
  • Brooks Morgan
  • Rachel Barton Pine
  • Betsey L. Puth
  • Priscilla F. Richman
  • William N. Topaz

Ex-Officio Trustees

  • Jennifer Koh
  • Nina Kraus
  • Christopher Rintz
  • Deborah F. Rutter
Music Institute of Chicago Board of Trustees
Photo by Kyle Flubacker